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Contractor’s 

Certificate of Workers’ 

Compensation Insurance 
 (Form 61A) 

 PLEASE COMPLETE FULLY AND LEGIBLY 

 RETURN TO: 
  Commissioner of the Revenue, or
  the appropriate official of a county, city, or town
 (https://www.vacomrev.com/who-we-are/districts-localities/)

Name of Contractor 

Last: 

Contractor's Business or Trade Name

First: 
Contractor's Federal Employer ID (FEIN) or Tax ID Number:

Contractor’s Mailing Address: Contractor's Business Address if different from Mailing Address:

City:   State:   Zip: City:   State:   Zip: 

Home Telephone: 
Business:   Corp.     L.L.C.  Sole Prop  Partnership   Other 

# of officers  # of paid members   # of partners: 

 WORKERS’ COMPENSA TION INSURA NCE 
If you have workers’ compensation insurance check type and complete below: 

Type of Trade or Industry: 

List ONLY WORKERS’ COMPENSATION, not General Liability 

 Insurance Carrier licensed in Virginia 

 Self-insured with certificate of authorization issued by the 
Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission 

Group Self-Insurance Association (GSIA) licensed by the State 
Corporation Commission  

 A Professional Employer Organization (PEO) registered in Virginia 

Business Telephone: E-mail Address: 

If you do not list workers’ compensation 
insurance you must answer below: 

1. Do you have more than two part-time or full-time employees?

 (Note: Corporate officers, LLC managers, part-time employees and  
 employees of your subcontractors generally count as your employees for 
 Workers’ compensation purposes. Filing of a 1099, payment of cash wages 
 or designating a worker an “Independent Contractor” does not necessarily 
 eliminate or alter employee status under the Workers’ Compensation Act.) 

 Yes   No 

2. Do you hire Independent Contractors or subcontractors with
employees to assist you in your work?

 Yes   No 

What is the number of subcontractor workers that assist you in your 
work?  

Failure to insure when required by law shall subject an employer to 
civil penalties of up to $250 per day uninsured, subject to a maximum 
penalty of $50,000.00 plus costs, pursuant to Virginia Code § 65.2-805  

NCCI Carrier 
Code  

Name of Insurance Carrier, Self-Insured, GSIA or 
PEO: 

Policy, Master Policy or Certificate Number: 

Policy Effective Date: Policy Expiration Date: 

Under penalty of perjury, the undersigned certifies s/he is duly authorized by the business license applicant to execute this certificate; 
the information provided herein is correct; and the business is in compliance with Chapter 8 of Title 65.2 of the Virginia Workers’ 
Compensation Act and will remain in compliance with the law during the effective period of the bus iness license. 

Signature of Applicant (Contractor) Date 

Print Name of Applicant (Contractor)

Return your completed form to your local Commissioner of the Revenue or the appropriate official of a county, city, or town.  
(https://www.vacomrev.com/who-we-are/districts-localities/)



INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE FORM 61A 

To be completed by the contractor.  All information requested is required. 

1. Enter the Contractor’s name, mailing address and phone number, all information is required.  List the trade name under which the 
business operates if a trade name is used.

2. Provide the Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN). If one has not been issued, a Temporary FEIN may be obtained by the 
Virginia Tax Dept.

3. If a corporation, enter the number of officers.  If a LLC, enter the number of paid members.  If a partnership, enter the number of 
partners.

4. Provide the type of trade or industry in which the business is classified.

5. Provide the workers’ compensation insurance information if you have coverage.  Enter only workers’ compensation insurance . 
No other form of insurance substitutes. Provide the complete name of the insurance company or other insuring entity provid ing 
workers’ compensation insurance coverage.  Also enter the policy or member number and policy effective dates. Do not list the 
name of an insurance agent or agency.  If you do not know or recall the name of your insurance company or insuring entity, please 
contact your agent to obtain this information.

6. Out of state contractor: Virginia requires valid Virginia workers’ compensation coverage for work performed in Virginia.  A 
contractor may obtain Virginia coverage with the proper Virginia Amendatory Endorsement, adding Virginia to Item 3A of the 
policy.

7. If you do not list workers’ compensation insurance on your form you must answer additional questions, i.e., 
whether you have more than two employees, whether you hire subcontractors to assist in your work and the number of 
subcontractor workers.

8. Virginia workers’ compensation insurance coverage requirements: Virginia requires that every employer who 
regularly employs more than two part-time or full-time employees purchase and maintain workers' compensation insurance.  A 
business that hires subcontractors to assist in the work of the business or fulfill a contract of the business must count the 
subcontractor’s employees when count ing employees to determine if / when coverage is required.  This is true even if the 
subcontractor has their own workers’ compensation coverage.

A contractor should gather proof of coverage from all subcontractors hired and should not be charged insurance premium for 
subcontractors that have their own coverage.  Regardless, a contractor that hires subcontractors with employees must count t he 
subcontractor’s employees when counting total employees and determining when / whether the contractor is required t o carry 
coverage. For additional information, please contact your insurance agent.

9. Contractors that would like further information concerning Virginia Workers’ Compensation insurance requirements 
should visit workcomp.virginia.gov/content/employers.

10. Return your completed form to your local Commissioner of the Revenue or the appropriate official of a county, 
city, or town.  (https://www.vacomrev.com/who-we-are/districts-localities/)




